Colorado Parks and Recreation Association
Printer-friendly Version

Awards Overview

Park and Recreation Community Champion Award

Columbine Awards

Professional Service Awards

Award Winning Strategies!

Awards History and Hall of Fame


CPRA Awards Program

The Colorado Parks and Recreation Association Awards Program is designed to recognize and celebrate the individuals and organizations that contribute to the success and value of parks and recreation in the state of Colorado.  Designed to bring attention to its recipients, the awards program highlights the successes of association members and community champions.  The sharing of new and creative programs is an additional benefit of involvement in the awards program. 

Excellence in parks and recreation is visible in many places.  We encourage you to take notice of the parks and recreation programs, professionals and community champions that deserve recognition... nominate them for an award!

General Awards Information

Call for Nominations! 

The CPRA Awards Committee, made up of past recipients of the Fellow and Outstanding New Professional awards, has now opened the Call for Nominations for 2014!  

Award Categories

Park and Recreation Community Champion Award
This award is designed to recognize an individual or organization within your community who is truly a Park and Recreation Champion!

Columbine Awards
Divided into three sub-categories, these awards are designed to highlight best practices and creative ideas in regards to design, innovation and programming.  Please see each category for specific criteria.

  • Design may include either new or renovated, park or recreation facility design projects.
  • Innovation may include marketing ideas, technology advances, communication, 'green' practices, partnerships, or operations - whatever you deem to be your best innovation!
  • Programming may include any program or initiative that is creative, fresh and new.

Professional Service Awards
For CPRA professional members only, the Fellow and Outstanding New Professional awards highlight individuals who exemplify leadership, inspiration and noteworthy contributions to the park and recreation profession.

Award Recognition

Each recipient of a CPRA Award will receive:

  • Statewide recognition at the 2014 CPRA Annual Conference Awards Banquet, in Steamboat Springs, CO
  • Statewide recognition in the 2014 Winter Issue of the CPRA Byline and on the CPRA website,  
  • CPRA representative available to re-present the Award at a local event
  • Sample press release for award recipient to distribute to local or regional media
  • An entry into our CPRA Awards Hall of Fame

Award Nomination Deadline

Award nominations are due no later than 11:59pm, Friday, July 25, 2014!
Award recipients will be announced at the 2014 CPRA Annual Conference Awards Banquet, in Steamboat Springs, CO

Awards Committee Decisions

Nominations will be collected by the CPRA office, compiled and then reviewed by the CPRA Awards Committee.  Only complete nominations will be considered.  The Awards Committee reserves the right to relocate a nomination to a more appropriate category without notifying the nominee and may give awards if nominations are deemed appropriate.  An award recipient in every category is not required nor guaranteed.  Committee decisions are final. 

How to Apply

Please use the links to the left and/or below to access our online award nomination applications, criteria, and our 'Award Winning Strategies' guide.

Park and Recreation Community Champion Award
Columbine Awards
Professional Service Awards
Award Winning Strategies!


Contact the CPRA office at 303.231.0943 or





CPRA Office

Mailing Address:

POB 1037
Wheat Ridge, CO  80034
Fax:  303.237.9750

Physical Address:

Richards Hart Estate
5349 W 27th Ave
Wheat Ridge, CO  80214
*All deliveries must be made to the north door at 28th & Benton St


Google Map

Powered by Affiniscape - Web Content and Association Membership Management